Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Soft City / Hariton Pushwagner ; introduction by Chris Ware ; afterword by Martin Herbert.

By: Pushwagner.
Contributor(s): Ware, Chris, 1967- | Herbert, Martin, 1973-.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : New York Review Comics, 2016Description: 1 v. (unpaged) : ill. ; 35 cm.ISBN: 9781681370460 (hardback).Subject(s): Comic books, strips, etc | Graphic novelsSummary: ""GOOD MORNING EVERYBODY. . . " So dawns a new day in Soft City, where pill-stuffed citizens sit in traffic, march off to work at Soft Inc., zone out in front of the TV news, and shop, shop, shop. The only graphic novel by the legendary Norwegian pop artist Hariton Pushwagner-- completed in 1975, lost for decades, and never before published in the United States--is a scathing masterpiece in the tradition of Brazil and A Brave New World but with an off-kilter beauty all its own. Pushwagner gives us an epic, exuberantly intricate vision of a single day in a world gone wrong: a brightly smiling, disturbingly familiar dystopia of towering skyscrapers, omnipresent surveillance, and endless, distant war. Every face looks like the next, and language itself has gone soft: "CLEAN BOMB THE HAPPY WAY," blares the morning paper; "Heil Hilton!" barks an overlord on the news. Welcome to Soft City. Now don't be late for work"-- Provided by publisher.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Jameel Library
PN6790.N83 P877 2016 (Browse shelf) Available 13120

""GOOD MORNING EVERYBODY. . . " So dawns a new day in Soft City, where pill-stuffed citizens sit in traffic, march off to work at Soft Inc., zone out in front of the TV news, and shop, shop, shop. The only graphic novel by the legendary Norwegian pop artist Hariton Pushwagner-- completed in 1975, lost for decades, and never before published in the United States--is a scathing masterpiece in the tradition of Brazil and A Brave New World but with an off-kilter beauty all its own. Pushwagner gives us an epic, exuberantly intricate vision of a single day in a world gone wrong: a brightly smiling, disturbingly familiar dystopia of towering skyscrapers, omnipresent surveillance, and endless, distant war. Every face looks like the next, and language itself has gone soft: "CLEAN BOMB THE HAPPY WAY," blares the morning paper; "Heil Hilton!" barks an overlord on the news. Welcome to Soft City. Now don't be late for work"-- Provided by publisher.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.
Copyright © Jameel Library Centre 2018, All rights reserved.
Powered by ALZAD